Irish Red Cross Organisation

The Red Cross is an international movement that was founded by a Swiss business man, Henri Dunant in 1859. The movement now has 97 million members worldwide with National Societies in 185 countries, including Ireland. These members help some 233 million beneficiaries each year.

The Irish Red Cross Society was established by an Act of the Oireachtas on 1 August 1939. The President of Ireland is the President of the Irish Red Cross.

Image Structure of the Irish Red Cross Council and Branches

The Central Council is the national governing body of the Irish Red Cross. It consists of a small number of Government nominees together with elected representatives from Irish Red Cross Areas. The Central Council meets twice yearly to formulate policy. It devolves responsibility for day to day affairs to the Executive Committee, which it elects. The Executive Committee meets once a month with the Secretary General of the Society.

The country is divided into 5 regions: Eastern, Western, Northern, Southern and Mid Leinster. These regions are further divided into areas which in general follow local authority boundaries. Dun Laoghaire - Rathdown is one of these areas.

Dun Laoghaire - Rathdown area is run by a single united branch who work closly with each first Aid unit to provide services to the local community. These services include Therapeutic Hand Care, Skin Camouflage, Ambulance and First Aid Services and First Aid Training.

Be Part of Our Community

If you would like to get involved in any of the above services or would like more information about the Red Cross Socity. Please Contact Us.